Search
  • unabridgedpod

Pub Day Shout-Outs! for August 11, 2020, featuring Boyne, Tidhar, and White

by Ashley Dickson-Ellison (@teachingtheapocalypse)


Here are three books coming out today that I am excited to read!


John Boyne's A Traveler at the Gates of Wisdom: A Novel


Description from Publisher:

"From the bestselling author of A Ladder to the Sky—'a darkly funny novel that races like a beating heart' (People)—comes a new novel that plays out across all of human history: a story as precise as it is unlimited.


"This story starts with a family. For now, it is a father and a mother with two sons, one with his father’s violence in his blood, one with his mother’s artistry. One leaves. One stays. They will be joined by others whose deeds will determine their fate. It is a beginning.


"Their stories will intertwine and evolve over the course of two thousand years. They will meet again and again at different times and in different places. From Palestine at the dawn of the first millennium and journeying across fifty countries to a life among the stars in the third, the world will change around them, but their destinies remain the same. It must play out as foretold.


"From the award-winning author of The Heart’s Invisible Furies comes A Traveler at the Gates of Wisdom, an epic tale of humanity. The story of all of us, stretching across two millennia. Imaginative, unique, heartbreaking, this is John Boyne at his most creative and compelling."


Why I want to read it: I LOVED, loved, loved The Heart's Invisible Furies and definitely plan to read what Boyne writes! This one sounds fascinating, and the way it spans such a long time period makes it even more intriguing for me.

Lavie Tidhar's By Force Alone


Description from Publisher:

"A retelling of Arthurian myth from World Fantasy Award-winner Lavie Tidhar, By Force Alone.


"Everyone thinks they know the story of King Arthur and his knights of the Round Table.


"The fact is they don't know sh*t.


"Arthur? An over-promoted gangster.

"Merlin? An eldritch parasite.

"Excalibur? A shady deal with a watery arms dealer.

"Britain? A clogged sewer that Rome abandoned just as soon as it could.


"A savage and cutting epic fantasy, equally poetic and profane, By Force Alone is a magical adventure and a subversive masterwork."


Why I want to read it: I always appreciate retellings of myths, and I like it when authors challenge the traditional attitudes toward legendary characters. This description sounds captivating.

Kali White's The Monsters We Make


Description from Publisher:

"For fans of Rene Denfeld and Shari Lapena comes a rich, atmospheric family drama set in the 1980's following the disappearances of two paperboys from a small midwestern town.


"It's August 1984, and paperboy Christopher Stewart has gone missing.


"Hours later, twelve-year-old Sammy Cox hurries home from his own paper route, red-faced and out of breath, hiding a terrible secret.


"Crystal, Sammy's seventeen-year-old sister, is worried by the disappearance but she also sees opportunity: the Stewart case has echoes of an earlier unsolved disappearance of another boy, one town over. Crystal senses the makings of an award winning essay, one that could win her a scholarship - and a ticket out of their small Iowa town.


"Officer Dale Goodkind can't believe his bad luck: another town and another paperboy kidnapping. But this time he vows that it won't go unsolved. As the abductions set in motion an unpredictable chain of violent, devastating events touching each life in unexpected ways, Dale is forced to face his own demons.


"Told through interwoven perspectives--and based on the real-life Des Moines Register paperboy kidnappings in the early 1980's--The Monsters We Make deftly explores the effects of one crime exposing another and the secrets people keep hidden from friends, families, and sometimes, even themselves."


Why I want to read it: I don't often read mysteries or thrillers, but I love things set in the 1980s, and this premise sounds gripping. I do appreciate atmospheric reads from time to time, and this looks like it would be a good one.

#pubdayshoutouts #thriller #literaryfiction #retelling #diversereads #ownvoices

(A note to our readers: click on the hashtags above to see our other blog posts with the same hashtag.)


Interested in what else we're reading? Check out our Featured Books page.


Loving what you see here? Please comment below (scroll ALL the way down to comment), share this post using the social media buttons below (scroll down for those as well!), and find us on social media to share your thoughts!

Want to support Unabridged?


Check out our Merch Store!

Become a patron on Patreon.​

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Instagram.

Like and follow our Facebook Page.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Check out our Teachers Pay Teachers store.

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Twitter.

Subscribe to our podcast and rate us on Apple Podcasts or on Stitcher.

Check us out on Podbean.

Please note that we a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Please note: We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

© 2020 by Ashley, Jen, and Sara of Unabridged Podcast, LLC. All rights reserved.