Search
  • unabridgedpod

New Book Releases Featuring Melissa Fu, Mindy McGinnis, and John Scalzi

by Jen Moyers (@jen.loves.books)


Here are three books coming out today that I'm excited to read!


Book cover of Melissa Fu's Peach Blossom Spring

Melissa Fu's Peach Blossom Spring (Bookshop.org | Libro.fm)


Description from Publisher:


"'Within every misfortune there is a blessing and within every blessing, the seeds of misfortune, and so it goes, until the end of time.'


"It is 1938 in China and, as a young wife, Meilin's future is bright. But with the Japanese army approaching, Meilin and her four year old son, Renshu, are forced to flee their home. Relying on little but their wits and a beautifully illustrated hand scroll, filled with ancient fables that offer solace and wisdom, they must travel through a ravaged country, seeking refuge.


"Years later, Renshu has settled in America as Henry Dao. Though his daughter is desperate to understand her heritage, he refuses to talk about his childhood. How can he keep his family safe in this new land when the weight of his history threatens to drag them down? Yet how can Lily learn who she is if she can never know her family's story?


"Spanning continents and generations, Peach Blossom Spring is a bold and moving look at the history of modern China, told through the story of one family. It's about the power of our past, the hope for a better future, and the haunting question: What would it mean to finally be home?"

Why I want to read it:

I'm a sucker for (1) historical fiction set during eras about which I'd like to learn more and (2) multi-generational stories, so this one is checking a bunch of boxes for me. (Also, I have the audio thanks to partner Libro.fm AND am reading it with @readwithtoni this month, so this is an auto-read for me.)


 

Book cover of Mindy McGinnis's The Last Laugh

Mindy McGinnis's The Last Laugh (Bookshop.org | Libro.fm)


Description from Publisher:


"In the dark and stunning sequel to The Initial Insult, award-winning author Mindy McGinnis concludes this suspenseful YA duology as long-held family secrets finally come to light . . . changing Amontillado forevermore. Perfect for fans of Truly Devious and Sadie!


"Tress Montor murdered Felicity Turnado--but she might not have to live with the guilt for long. With an infected arm held together by duct tape, the panther who clawed her open on the loose, and the whole town on the hunt for the lost homecoming queen, the odds are stacked against Tress. As her mind slides deeper into delirium, Tress is haunted by the growing sound of Felicity's heartbeat pulsing from the 'best friend' charm around her fevered neck.


"Ribbit Usher has been a punchline his whole life--from his nickname to his latest turn as the unwitting star of a humiliating viral video. In the past he's willingly played the fool, but now it's time to fulfill his destiny. That means saving the girl, so that Felicity can take her place at his side and Ribbit can exact revenge on all who have done him wrong--which includes his cousin, Tress. Ribbit is held by a pact he made with his mother long ago, a pact that must be delivered upon in four days.


"With time ticking down and an enemy she considers a friend lurking in the shadows, Tress's grip on reality is failing. Can she keep both mind and body together long enough to finally find out what happened to her parents?"


Why I want to read it:

Mindy McGinnis is a reliably brilliant author for me. Her YA novels are gritty and feminist and fascinating. I'm a few books behind for McGinnis, so I have some catching up to do (I haven't read the first book in this duology yet), but I know I have some great reading ahead!


 

Book cover of John Scalzi's The Kaiju Preservation Society

John Scalzi's The Kaiju Preservation Society (Bookshop.org)


Description from Publisher:


"When COVID-19 sweeps through New York City, Jamie Gray is stuck as a dead-end driver for food delivery apps. That is, until Jamie makes a delivery to an old acquaintance, Tom, who works at what he calls 'an animal rights organization.' Tom's team needs a last-minute grunt to handle things on their next field visit. Jamie, eager to do anything, immediately signs on.


"What Tom doesn't tell Jamie is that the animals his team cares for are not here on Earth. Not our Earth, at least. In an alternate dimension, massive dinosaur-like creatures named Kaiju roam a warm and human-free world. They're the universe's largest and most dangerous panda and they're in trouble.


"It's not just the Kaiju Preservation Society who have found their way to the alternate world."

Why I want to read it:

I'm cheating a little bit here because I've already read this one. I'm so excited that this book is being released today(!). You can check out my review here.


 

#pubdayshoutouts

(A note to our readers: click on the hashtags above to see our other blog posts with the same hashtag.)


Interested in what else we're reading? Check out our Featured Books page.


Loving what you see here? Please comment below (scroll ALL the way down to comment), share this post using the social media buttons below (scroll down for those as well!), and find us on social media to share your thoughts!

 

Want to support Unabridged?


Check out our Merch Store!

Become a patron on Patreon.​

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Instagram.

Like and follow our Facebook Page.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Check out our Teachers Pay Teachers store.

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Twitter.

Subscribe to our podcast and rate us on Apple Podcasts or on Stitcher.

Check us out on Podbean.

 

Please note that we a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. We also are proud to partner with Bookshop.org and have a curated Unabridged store as well as affiliate links. Finally, we're also honored to be a partner with Libro.fm and proudly use affiliate links to support them and independent bookstores.

3 views0 comments