Search
  • unabridgedpod

Pub Day Shout-Outs for May 18, 2021, featuring Karim, Rodkey, and Suk

by Sara Voigt (@meaningfulmadness)


Here are three YA books coming out today that I'm excited to read!


Book cover of The Marvelous Mirza Girls by Sheba Karim

Sheba Karim's The Marvelous Mirza Girls


Description from Publisher:

"Gilmore Girls meets vibrant New Delhi in this thoughtful and hilarious new novel about a teen facing family expectations, relationship complications, and hidden secrets in a new country—sprinkled with Sheba Karim’s signature wit and steamy romance, and perfect for readers who loved Mary H. K. Choi’s Emergency Contact and Adib Khorram’s Darius the Great Is Not Okay.


"To cure her post-senior year slump, made worse by the loss of her aunt Sonia, Noreen decides to follow her mom on a gap year trip to New Delhi, hoping India can lessen her grief and bring her voice back.


"In the world’s most polluted city, Noreen soon meets kind, handsome Kabir, who introduces her to the wonders of this magical, complicated place. With the help of Kabir—plus Bollywood celebrities, fourteenth-century ruins, karaoke parties, and Sufi saints—Noreen discovers new meanings for home.


"But when a family scandal erupts, Noreen and Kabir must face complex questions in their own relationship: What does it mean to truly stand by someone—and what are the boundaries of love?"


Why I want to read it: This sounds perfect for summer reading. I love YA and this sound super compelling--soapy with substance--perfect for me! Plus, I loved Darius the Great Is Not Okay, so I think I will love this one!

Sarah Suk's Made In Korea


Description from Publisher:

"Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic comedy about two entrepreneurial Korean American teens who butt heads—and maybe fall in love—while running competing Korean beauty businesses at their high school.


"There’s nothing Valerie Kwon loves more than making a good sale. Together with her cousin Charlie, they run V&C K-BEAUTY, their school’s most successful student-run enterprise. With each sale, Valerie gets closer to taking her beloved and adventurous halmeoni to her dream city, Paris.


"Enter the new kid in class, Wes Jung, who is determined to pursue music after graduation despite his parents’ major disapproval. When his classmates clamor to buy the K-pop branded beauty products his mom gave him to 'make new friends,' he sees an opportunity—one that may be the key to help him pay for the music school tuition he knows his parents won’t cover…


"What he doesn’t realize, though, is that he is now V&C K-BEAUTY’s biggest competitor.

Stakes are high as Valerie and Wes try to outsell each other, make the most money, and take the throne for the best business in school—all while trying to resist the undeniable spark that’s crackling between them. From hiring spies to all-or-nothing bets, the competition is much more than either of them bargained for.


"But one thing is clear: only one Korean business can come out on top."


Why I want to read it: Frankly In Love? LOVE it. Shark Tank? LOVE it. Feel-good romantic comedy? Um, yes please. Enough said.

Book cover of Last Chance Books by Kelsey Rodkey

Kelsey Rodkey's Last Chance Books


Description from Publisher:

"You’ve Got Mail meets Morgan Matson in this smart, banter-filled romcom with a bookish twist.


"Nothing will stop Madeline Moore from taking over her family’s independent bookstore after college. Nothing, that is—until a chain bookstore called Prologue opens across the street and threatens to shut them down.


"Madeline sets out to demolish the competition, but the guy who works over at Prologue seems intent on ruining her life. Not only is he taking her customers, he has the unbelievable audacity to be… extremely cute.


"But that doesn’t matter. Jasper is the enemy and he will be destroyed. After all—all’s fair in love and (book) war."


Why I want to read it: I figured I might as well go three for three with YA romances. They are perfect for summer reading! This one sound great—I love an enemies to lovers trope, and the fact that it takes place in a bookstore? Perfect.

#pubdayshoutouts #yalit #romance

(A note to our readers: click on the hashtags above to see our other blog posts with the same hashtag.)


Interested in what else we're reading? Check out our Featured Books page.


Loving what you see here? Please comment below (scroll ALL the way down to comment), share this post using the social media buttons below (scroll down for those as well!), and find us on social media to share your thoughts!

Want to support Unabridged?


Check out our Merch Store!

Become a patron on Patreon.​

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Instagram.

Like and follow our Facebook Page.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Check out our Teachers Pay Teachers store.

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Twitter.

Subscribe to our podcast and rate us on Apple Podcasts or on Stitcher.

Check us out on Podbean.

Please note that we a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. We also are proud to partner with Bookshop.org and have a curated Unabridged store as well as affiliate links.

3 views0 comments