Search
  • unabridgedpod

Pub Day Shout-Outs! for November 2nd, 2021, featuring Brockenbrough, King, and Tieu

by Sara Voigt (@meaningfulmadness)


Here are three books coming out today that I'm excited to read!


Book cover of Martha Brockenbrough's Into the Bloodred Woods

Martha Brockenbrough's Into the Bloodred Woods (Amazon | Bookshop.org)


Description from Publisher:

"Once upon a time there was a kingdom, and a forest that liked to eat men, and a girl who would change everything, but not alone …


"Except —


"There’s no such thing as once upon a time.

In a faraway land, populated by were beasts and surrounded by a powerful forest, lies a kingdom about to be sent into chaos. On his deathbed, King Tyran divides his land, leaving half to each of his two children — so they’ll rule together. However, his son, Albrecht, is not satisfied with half a kingdom. And even though his sister, Ursula, is the first born, he decides that, as a girl and were bear, she is unfit to rule. So he invades her land, slaughtering her people and most of the were beasts, and claims it for himself.


"As King Albrecht builds his iron rule and an army to defend his reign, Ursula is gathering the survivors and making plans to seize back the kingdom. Not just her half — the whole thing. Because Albrecht should have never been allowed to sit on the throne, and Ursula is going to take his crown. And if he’s not careful, he might not get to keep his head either."


Why I want to read it: New YA fantasy? Yes, please! Add in some fairytale vibes? Count me in!


Book cover of Vanessa King's A Certain Appeal

Vanessa King's A Certain Appeal (Amazon | Bookshop.org)


Description from Publisher:

"A sparkling contemporary retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in the tantalizing world of New York City burlesque, perfect for fans of The Kiss Quotient and The Roommate.

After a betrayal derailed her interior design career, Liz Bennet found a fresh start in New York. Now an executive assistant by day and stage kitten by night, she’s discovered a second home with the performers at Meryton, Manhattan’s top-tier burlesque venue. Love’s the last thing on her mind when she locks eyes with Will Darcy across the crowded club. The spark between them is undeniable—that is, until she overhears the uptight wealth manager call her merely 'tolerable.'


"Bennet is determined to write Darcy off, but once their besties fall head-over-heels, they’re thrown into each other’s orbit again and again. Each encounter begins to feel more heated than the last, but is their chemistry enough to topple that terrible first impression? What’s more, when a charming newcomer arrives on the scene with accusations against Darcy, his claims leave Bennet torn. And when a sudden development leaves Meryton’s fate in jeopardy, she will have to decide who to trust in time to salvage her design dreams, her heart, and the stage she shares with her found family."


Why I want to read it: I have become fond of a classic retelling. Ever since I read Austen's Pride and Prejudice earlier this year, I have been interested in retellings of that story. I think this one sounds great!


Book cover of Julie Tieu's The Donut Trap

Julie Tieu's The Donut Trap (Amazon | Bookshop.org)


Description from Publisher:

"Julie Tieu sparkles in this debut romantic comedy, which is charmingly reminiscent of the TV show Kim’s Convenience and Frankly in Love by David Yoon, about a young woman who feels caught in the life her parents have made for her until she falls in love and finds a way out of the donut trap.


"Jasmine Tran has landed herself behind bars—maple bars that is. With no boyfriend or job prospects, Jasmine returns home to work at her parents’ donut shop. Jasmine quickly loses herself in a cyclical routine of donuts, Netflix, and sleep. She wants to break free from her daily grind, but when a hike in rent threatens the survival of their shop, her parents rely on her more than ever.


"Help comes in the form of an old college crush, Alex Lai. Not only is he successful and easy on the eyes, to her parents’ delight, he’s also Chinese. He’s everything she should wish for, until a disastrous dinner reveals Alex isn’t as perfect as she thinks. Worse, he doesn’t think she’s perfect either.


"With both sets of parents against their relationship, a family legacy about to shut down, and the reappearance of an old high school flame, Jasmine must scheme to find a solution that satisfies her family’s expectations and can get her out of the donut trap once and for all."


Why I want to read it: I actually received an advanced audiobook of this title (Thank you, Libro.FM!) and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The Donut Trap has just the right amount of family drama, romance, and humor. Warning: if you are a donut lover, the descriptions might make you want a donut, STAT!

#pubdayshoutouts

(A note to our readers: click on the hashtags above to see our other blog posts with the same hashtag.)


Interested in what else we're reading? Check out our Featured Books page.


Loving what you see here? Please comment below (scroll ALL the way down to comment), share this post using the social media buttons below (scroll down for those as well!), and find us on social media to share your thoughts!

Want to support Unabridged?


Check out our Merch Store!

Become a patron on Patreon.​

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Instagram.

Like and follow our Facebook Page.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Check out our Teachers Pay Teachers store.

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Twitter.

Subscribe to our podcast and rate us on Apple Podcasts or on Stitcher.

Check us out on Podbean.

Please note that we a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. We also are proud to partner with Bookshop.org and have a curated Unabridged store as well as affiliate links.

4 views0 comments