Search
  • unabridgedpod

Pub Day Shout-Outs for July 20, 2021, featuring Glatt, Downing, and Water

by Sara Voigt (@meaningfulmadness)


Here are three books coming out today that I'm excited to read!


Book Cover of Golden Boy: A Murder Among the Man by John Glatthattan Elite

John Glatt's Golden Boy: A Murder Among the Manhattan Elite


Description from Publisher:

"New York Times bestselling author John Glatt tells the true story of Thomas Gilbert Jr., the handsome and charming New York socialite accused of murdering his father, a Manhattan millionaire and hedge fund founder.


"By all accounts, Thomas Gilbert Jr. led a charmed life. The son of a wealthy hedge fund manager and a financier, he grew up surrounded by a loving family and all the luxury an Upper East Side childhood could provide: education at the elite Buckley School and Deerfield Academy, summers in a sprawling seaside mansion in the Hamptons. He was strikingly handsome, moving with ease through glittering social circles and following in his father’s footsteps to Princeton. His friends saw him as a leader; his parents adored him.


"But Tommy always felt different, and the cracks in his façade began to show. What started as quiet exhaustion turned into warning signs of OCD, increasing paranoia, and—most troubling—an indescribable, inexplicable hatred of his father. As his parents begged him to seek psychiatric help, Tommy pushed back by self-medicating with drugs and escalating violence. When a fire destroyed his recently-estranged best friend’s Hamptons home, Tommy was the prime suspect—but he was never charged. Just months later, he arrived at his parents’ apartment, calmly asked his mother to leave, and shot his father point-blank in the head.


"Now, journalist John Glatt takes an in-depth look at the devastating crime that rocked Manhattan’s upper class. With exclusive access to sources close to Tommy, including his own mother, Glatt constructs the agonizing spiral of mental illness that led Thomas Gilbert Jr. to the ultimate unspeakable act."


Why I want to read it: I love a true crime story, and this sounds fascinating.

Book cover of For Your Own Good by Samantha Downing

Samantha Downing's For Your Own Good


Description from Publisher:

“'Just finished reading this wonderfully dark, twisty and compelling thriller set in a prestigious private school. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end' —B.A. Paris


“'A slick and chilling thriller, leading readers on a dark, sinuous journey through the halls of Belmont Academy—the type of place where you’re never sure who to trust, or who to fear.'—Megan Miranda


“'Dark, sly and delicious…totally original—and totally compelling.'—JP Delaney


“'I’m a huge fan of Samantha Downing.'—Sarah Pekkanen


"USA Today bestselling author Samantha Downing is back with her latest sneaky thriller set at a prestigious private school—complete with interfering parents, overeager students, and one teacher who just wants to teach them all a lesson…


"Teddy Crutcher has won Teacher of the Year at the esteemed Belmont Academy, home to the best and brightest.


"He says his wife couldn’t be more proud—though no one has seen her in a while.

Teddy really can’t be bothered with the death of a school parent that’s looking more and more like murder or the student digging a little too deep into Teddy’s personal life. His main focus is on pushing these kids to their full academic potential.


"All he wants is for his colleagues—and the endlessly meddlesome parents—to stay out of his way.


"It’s really too bad that sometimes excellence can come at such a high cost."


Why I want to read it: This sounds like a wild ride. This summer I have been enjoying thrillers, so this one seems perfect for my current reading mood.

Book cover of The River Has Teeth by Erica Waters

Erica Waters's The River Has Teeth


Description from Publisher:

"Lush and chilling, with razor-sharp edges and an iron core of hope, this bewitching, powerhouse novel of two girls fighting back against the violence the world visits on them will stun and enchant readers.

Girls have been going missing in the woods…


"When Natasha’s sister disappears, Natasha desperately turns to Della, a local girl rumored to be a witch, in the hopes that magic will bring her sister home.


"But Della has her own secrets to hide. She thinks the beast who’s responsible for the disappearances is her own mother—who was turned into a terrible monster by magic gone wrong.


"Natasha is angry. Della has little to lose. Both are each other’s only hope.


"From the author of Ghost Wood Song, this eerie contemporary fantasy is perfect for fans of Wilder Girls and Bone Gap."


Why I want to read it: This YA book sounds so compelling! I love a YA mystery, so this is going to directly to my TBR!

#pubdayshoutouts #nonfiction #thrillers #yalit

(A note to our readers: click on the hashtags above to see our other blog posts with the same hashtag.)


Interested in what else we're reading? Check out our Featured Books page.


Loving what you see here? Please comment below (scroll ALL the way down to comment), share this post using the social media buttons below (scroll down for those as well!), and find us on social media to share your thoughts!

Want to support Unabridged?


Check out our Merch Store!

Become a patron on Patreon.​

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Instagram.

Like and follow our Facebook Page.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Check out our Teachers Pay Teachers store.

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Twitter.

Subscribe to our podcast and rate us on Apple Podcasts or on Stitcher.

Check us out on Podbean.

Please note that we a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. We also are proud to partner with Bookshop.org and have a curated Unabridged store as well as affiliate links.

0 views0 comments