Search
  • unabridgedpod

Pub Day Shout-Outs! for September 21, 2021, featuring Oshiro, Gorman and Long, and Sayman

by Sara Voigt (@meaningfulmadness)


Here are three books coming out today that I'm excited to read!


Book cover of Mark Oshiro's The Insiders

Mark Oshiro's The Insiders

(Amazon | Bookshop.org)


Description from Publisher:

"Three kids who don’t belong. A room that shouldn’t exist. A year that will change everything. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Meg Medina, this debut middle grade novel from award-winning author Mark Oshiro is a hopeful and heartfelt coming-of-age story for anyone who’s ever felt like they didn’t fit in.


"San Francisco and Orangevale may be in the same state, but for Héctor Muñoz, they might as well be a million miles apart. Back home, being gay didn’t mean feeling different. At Héctor’s new school, he couldn’t feel more alone.


"Most days, Héctor just wishes he could disappear. And he does. Right into the janitor’s closet. (Yes, he sees the irony.) But one day, when the door closes behind him, Héctor discovers he’s stumbled into a room that shouldn’t be possible. A room that connects him with two new friends from different corners of the country—and opens the door to a life-changing year full of magic, friendship, and adventure.


“'Sometimes hilarious, sometimes devastating, but always full of heart, The Insiders carves out a space for us all to be our true selves.” —Kwame Mbalia, New York Times bestselling author of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky"


Why I want to read it: Middle-grade fantasy is my sweet spot. This seems like an excellent choice for middle grade fiction. I love reading about kids who feel like they don't belong finding their place. I can't wait to read this one.


Book cover of Amanda Gorman and Loren Long's Change Sings: A Children's Anthem

Amanda Gorman and Loren Long's Change Sings: A Children's Anthem

(Amazon | Bookshop.org)


Description from Publisher:

"A lyrical picture book debut from presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long


'I can hear change humming In its loudest, proudest song. I don’t fear change coming, And so I sing along.'


"In this stirring, much-anticipated picture book by presidential inaugural poet and activist Amanda Gorman, anything is possible when our voices join together. As a young girl leads a cast of characters on a musical journey, they learn that they have the power to make changes—big or small—in the world, in their communities, and in most importantly, in themselves.


"With lyrical text and rhythmic illustrations that build to a dazzling crescendo by #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long, Change Sings is a triumphant call to action for everyone to use their abilities to make a difference."


Why I want to read it: Amanda Gorman's beautiful inaugural poem took my breath away. I cannot wait to read this picture book, especially since it is described as a "lyrical picture book"—I am sure it will be stunning!


Book cover of Michael Sayman's App Kid

Michael Sayman's App Kid: How a Child of Immigrants Grabbed a Piece of the American Dream

(Amazon | Bookshop.org)


Description from Publisher:


"An inspiring and deeply personal memoir from one of the most extraordinary entrepreneurs in Silicon Valley, who taught himself how to code as a thirteen-year-old and claimed his share of the American Dream.


"As his parents watched their restaurant business collapse in the wake of the Great Recession, thirteen-year-old Michael Sayman was googling 'how to code.' Within a year, he had launched an iPhone app that was raking in thousands of dollars a month, enough to keep his family afloat–and in America. Entirely self-taught, Sayman headed from high school straight into the professional world, and by the time he was seventeen, he was Facebook’s youngest employee ever, building new features that wowed Mark Zuckerberg. These features are now being used by more than half a billion people every day. After Sayman pushed Facebook to build its own version of Snapchat’s 'Stories,' engagement on the platform soared across all demographics. Millions of Gen Z and Millennials returned to the app as teen engagement rose dramatically on Instagram and WhatsApp, causing a billion-dollar loss in value for Snapchat’s parent company. Three years later, he jumped ship for Google. In this candid and uplifting memoir, Sayman shares the highs and lows, the successes and failures, of his remarkable journey. It tells the galvanizing story of how a young Latino, not yet old enough to drink, excelled in the cutthroat world of Silicon Valley, becoming an inspiration to thousands of kids across the United States and Latin America by following his own surprising, extraordinary path. In addition, it is filled with practical wisdom, making it essential–and affirming–reading for anyone marching to the beat of their own drum."


Why I want to read it: I love memoirs, and lately, I have been loving reading about inspiring stories and I have been particularly interested in the Silicon Valley startups. I can't wait to read this one!

#pubdayshoutouts #memoir #kidlit #middlegrade

(A note to our readers: click on the hashtags above to see our other blog posts with the same hashtag.)


Interested in what else we're reading? Check out our Featured Books page.


Loving what you see here? Please comment below (scroll ALL the way down to comment), share this post using the social media buttons below (scroll down for those as well!), and find us on social media to share your thoughts!

Want to support Unabridged?


Check out our Merch Store!

Become a patron on Patreon.​

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Instagram.

Like and follow our Facebook Page.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Check out our Teachers Pay Teachers store.

Follow us @unabridgedpod on Twitter.

Subscribe to our podcast and rate us on Apple Podcasts or on Stitcher.

Check us out on Podbean.

Please note that we a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. We also are proud to partner with Bookshop.org and have a curated Unabridged store as well as affiliate links.

3 views0 comments